How many times can I sit for the RACGP Fellowship Exams?


How many times can I sit for the RACGP Fellowship Exams? 

You can sit for the Fellowship exams as many times as you need to as long as it is over a three year period. 

Candidates for RACGP Fellowship must sit for Fellowship exams over a maximum of six semesters during a maximum period of three years.

Exam semesters relate to a candidate’s candidacy, not to individual exam attempts. Your candidacy starts from the date of your very first exam enrolment- even if you didn’t sit it or pass it. 

Candidates must pass all three of the Fellowship exam segments (AKT, KFP and Clinical Exam) within the six exam semesters (3 years).

Candidates have the option to apply for one standard six-month suspension of their candidacy – meaning you will have 3.5 years to pass the exams. 

If you don’t pass your Fellowship Exams within these three years, you will not be eligible to become an RACGP Fellow. 

How Can We Help?

Our team offer General Practitioners assistance with finding jobs and a career pathway, and Medical Facilities to find a new Medical Practitioner. We also help with the full application process with AHPRA, RACGP, ACRRM, Department of Health, Medicare including 19AA & 19AB. If we can help, please contact us at

People Medical Consulting like sharing what we know, giving you a clear pathway to your career. We answer a different question each week that you ask us on Facebook & Instagram.

People Medical Consulting are a team of professionals with a passion for guiding those specialising in the Medical industry to find their career pathway and settle into Australia. Working with both Australian trained and Overseas trained professionals, we have extensive experience in Recruitment of General Practitioners, and   Document Assistance for those requiring support with RACGP, AHPRA, 19AA and 19AB Medicare Exemptions.

Related Articles

PEP Specialist Stream

IMPORTANT UPDATE: From 22 November 2023 an exemption will apply to the following Continuing Professional Development (CPD) requirements for Comparability Assessments: *This will apply to all pending and…