General Practice Pathways

General Practice Pathways | General Practice Australia | People Medical

We at People Medical know how difficult it can be to work out exactly where you need to go and what you need to do to get there… but that’s why we are here!

This blog gives a preview of the 3 different Pathways and their eligibility requirements so that you know exactly which one to follow based on your own circumstances. Individual blogs are also available which thoroughly explain each pathway – Standard, Competent Authority or Specialist – to further help you in determining the appropriate route to take.

Standard Pathway

The Standard Pathway is open to International Medical Graduates who have, at a minimum, a Medical qualification and have passed the Australian Medical Council Multiple Choice Quiz and an English Language Test.

This pathway involves working under supervision for a period of time before you pass the AMC Clinical and progress to General Registration.

For a detailed explanation of the Standard Pathway, check out this link:

Competent Authority Pathway

The Competent Authority Pathway is for IMGs who are registered and have worked in a country recognised as competent by the Medical Board of Australia to assess the applied medical knowledge and clinical skills of IMGs. 

Countries recognised as competent: 

  • UK
  • Ireland
  • Canada
  • New Zealand
  • US

Under the Competent Authority Pathway, you will be eligible for Provisional Registration with AHPRA. 

After 12 months of full-time supervised practice in Australia, you will be eligible to apply for General Registration with the Medical Board of Australia and will no longer require supervision.

If this sounds like your pathway, you may proceed to this link for details:

Specialist Pathway

The Specialist pathway is for overseas-trained specialists applying for assessment of comparability to the standard of a specialist trained in that specialty in Australia (specialist recognition) and overseas-trained specialists applying for an area of need specialist level position in Australia (area of need).

IMGs who have a primary qualification in medicine and surgery awarded by a training institution recognised by both the Australian Medical Council and the World Directory of Medical Schools (WDOMS) and who have satisfied all the training and examination requirements to practise in their field of specialty in their country of training, can apply for assessment under this pathway (specialist recognition or area of need).

If you think you are eligible for the Specialist Pathway, kindly go to this link:


Our team offer General Practitioners assistance with finding jobs and a career pathway, and Medical Facilities to find a new Medical Practitioner. We also help with the full application process with AHPRA, RACGP, ACRRM, Department of Health, Medicare including 19AA & 19AB. If we can help, please contact us at

People Medical Consulting are a team of professionals with a passion for guiding those specialising in the Medical industry to find their career pathway and settle into Australia. Working with both Australian trained and Overseas trained professionals, we have extensive experience in Recruitment of General Practitioners and Document Assistance for those requiring support with RACGP, AHPRA, 19AA and 19AB Medicare Exemptions.

Related Articles

PEP Specialist Stream

IMPORTANT UPDATE: From 22 November 2023 an exemption will apply to the following Continuing Professional Development (CPD) requirements for Comparability Assessments: *This will apply to all pending and…

Standard Pathway

The standard pathway is one of 3 ways an international medical graduate can become a General Practitioner in Australia.  If you are not eligible for…